200 Words

‘Why would your play suit our theatre?’

‘What does your plays bring to our theatre?’

‘How does your play appeal to our audience?’

And other such questions that force me to smash my head off my keyboard many times over. I’ve reached that horrible part when you’ve finished the script and need to knock it into some kind of shape so that it’s acceptable to the outside world. It’s the part I hate, an effort to condense your work down to a bitesized chunk, to get to the kernel within, to separate it down to bullet points. It’s an evil that needs done because there isn’t much of a way around it but I get the creeping feeling that I should be spending the time writing new stuff.

Then there’s the other questions as listed above. It’s basically like a job interview done on paper. With that in mind I’d better crack on.

Leave a Reply

