Traversed

An e-mail arrives from The Traverse this morning.

‘Dear Cameron Phillips,

Thank you for sending us your play, Seven Lucky Stars.

This is not a play we are in a position to produce. As you may know, most of the plays we produce are commissioned in-house. It is very rare that an unsolicited script makes it to one of our stages.

We are grateful to have had the opportunity to connect with your work. Engaging with writers at all stages of their career is central to our Artistic policy. 

Please keep an eye on our website and our season brochures to keep up to date with the variety of writing initiatives and work we have on offer, or click here to sign up to receive Traverse Enews.

For your information we are now only accepting online script submissions, you can find out more about the new script submissions process by visiting http://www.traverse.co.uk/writing/send-us-your-writing/ .

We hope to see you at the Traverse at some point soon.’

It looks like the standard, generated rejection response but then a place like The Traverse could hardly be in a position to write personally to everybody who sends them material. Whilst receiving this kind of reply might be a cue for being a bit downhearted it’s far better than receiving no response at all (which has happened to me before).

I’m not under any illusion of thinking Seven Lucky Stars will be taken in it’s current form and performed professionally as this hardly ever happens and the script would probably need somebody with a better knowledge than I to read over before another rewrite.

This is hardly the end of the world.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Traversed

  1. I know how frustrating it can be not to hear back on your work. I’d sent out a manuscript for a nine page short story to the Lullwater Review five months ago, and have yet to hear back from them. Their standard response time was two months, according to their website. But being that they accept simultaneous submissions, I recently sent the story elsewhere (they also accept simultaneous submissions) and am waiting to hear back on it.
    But like you said, at least you got a reply this time. I wish you the best luck placing your work. Don’t let the rejection get you down.

    • cripleh says:

      The best response I ever had was quite recently. A film producer in San Franciso e-mailed me back after reading one of my scripts to say that the project might not be for him but this is what he’d do if he were in my shoes. He made a list of tweaks and improvements, many of which were very well thought out and quite true once I look at it from his angle.

      I e-mailed him back to say that I really appreciated his time and effort and that the advice was taken on board in the next rewrite. He replied to say that he usually dreads opening any response to a rejection he’s written but mine had made his day. He was sorry he couldn’t take me any further but invited me to send him more because I had ‘a positive attitude to the process’.

      So it worked out very well in the end.

      • That’s great. Generally all I get is a “Sorry, we can’t place it” or “It’s not for us”. For someone to offer advice and another view point on the piece is pretty surprising(to me at least). It seems to me that most people in the publishing world think they don’t have time for stuff like that. It’s great that you were able to better your work with the advice he’d given you, and that he took the time to offer help.
        I think the best reply I’ve gotten was a hand written note on a standard “no” response. It said something to the effect of “Keep up the good work.” It’s the little things, you know? I remember floating on a cloud for a week after an actual editor let me know I was doing good work.

Leave a Reply

