Insomnia Must Die

Checking my e-mails at work yesterday (during lunch break naturally, hard at work the rest of the time) and up pops this…

Dear Cameron
 
Thanks for submitting your play to us for consideration. I’m sorry for the delay in getting back to you with a response. As a new writing theatre we have limited resources to extend to non-commissioned work and although we enjoyed reading ‘Seven Lucky Stars’ I’m afraid we are unable to offer you a production. I’m sorry we’re not able to assist you in the development of your play but I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you continuing good luck with your writing.
 
With best wishes
 
(Name Removed From Blog Post)
Administrator – Literary Department
 
Live Theatre
Broad Chare
Quayside
Newcastle
NE1 3DQ
Most rejection letters follow this pattern. Firstly, a thank you for submitting then an apology for taking so long to get back to you which really isn’t a problem in this case as they said it would be at least six months and it turned out to be five. Then they’ll say that whilst they enjoyed reading your script they either do not feel it’s right for them or they do not have the facilities and then a short word wishing you luck on your career. It’s fairly standard but totally understandable as far as the process goes.
So Seven Lucky Stars doesn’t appear to be going anywhere soon and I’ve seen days past when I’d get really angry that I’d ploughed many hours into a project and got nowhere. Right now though I’ve found that the key is just to move onto the next thing before you’ve even heard the response from the last. I’m already into writing The Unlocked Project so I’d actually shoved anything related to Seven Lucky Stars right to the back of my head.
Unlocked (there, it feels better once it’s shortened) is still going through draft two troubles. I’ll start to post the alternative version on here once I’ve got something concrete. The removal of the insomnia has begun!
Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Insomnia Must Die

  1. This is the type of post where a “like” button seems insignificant. So, I’ll reject the “like” button. Had you queried them and they showed interest and then you sent them the play? Whatever the case, you can’t bust your head over the waiting game, for sure.

Leave a Reply

