There Is No Room For Hatred (In A Broken Heart)

I never used to listen to much music on the radio. During the nights when I used to stay up late and write I had a small radio in the room which was tuned to talk stations. I wanted to hear voices, to get the idea of different people talking, how they put across an opinion, how different voices overlay and interact with each other. The dial would be set into anything vocal, it didn’t even have to be in English.

Last night I was working on a piece of writing for The Conquistabores podcast I’m part of. Because I have a weakness for keeping social media open on another tab whilst I work I noticed that a notification had popped up on Twitter saying that the show Wireless Nights was about to start over on Radio 4. It’s presented by Jarvis Cocker, the lead singer of Pulp. This edition was about journeys in the night and it featured sections with Kathleen from Mostly Ghostly Investigations with regards to the A75 haunted road tour.

In the stillness of my living room, late at night, the voices were a call back to those teenage days scribbling with a pad and pen. Not only were there stories about sightings of ghosts just outside Eastriggs but they also had a segment on a hitchhiker trying to get from London to Liverpool and a former soldier who told stories of his time driving in warzones.

I wrote away at speed. Two thousand words became three thousand then four thousand. I was able to put up an entire article in the early hours of the morning.

I might have just found my muse.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

