Devil Storms

I took a look at Parallel again. Well I took a look at the four or five pages that I’d done a few weeks ago and promptly scrapped the lot. I’ve started again, this time starting the story on Earth at the Mission Control building as they guide the penultimate scientist down from the space station to terra firma. This leaves our remaining scientist alone up in the sky until the shuttle can turn around and get her too.

There are flaws in this already. Why should there be a shuttle that can only take one person at a time. Surely any project like this would be funded to a large degree and be able to fit all of them on board? The only thing giving some kind of reason for this right now is a very simple one. This expedition to the stars is not only in the near future but also very British. I don’t want the massive NASA missions that we’ve seen in movies before with hundreds of technicians running around massive computers. This is something on a much smaller scale with just about enough funding to get the thing off the ground.

I had toyed with the idea of having a huge Union Jack flag proudly displayed on a pole in the room much like the American ones displayed either side of the President during speeches at The White House. I then began to think that it’s not something we Brits would do. We would simply be uncomfortable with that level of bombast. I’ve therefore settled by having a very small flag on the desk of the lead technician. It still means the same thing but it’s more in keeping with nationality in this film.

The other slight trouble I have is that all the characters you meet in the first few minutes are white men. Our scientist in the sky, whose journey back home is the bulk of the movie from then on, is female and in her early 40’s which isn’t often a profile seen in a movie like this. The trouble is that it takes a few moments to get to her currently and I’m worried it’s a bit off putting.

 

But still, we’re off and running again.

 

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Devil Storms

  1. Sounds cool.
    As for diversity, its not always natural for me adding in multi national characters being surrounded by white people, but its something I am more conscious of now, and if a story seems congruent i’ll readily mix it up.

    • cripleh says:

      It just feels a bit jarring. It’s really only for about two or three opening pages but it seems to set a tone. The rest of the film is about the female scientist and it’s really her story. What perhaps also help is they’re welcoming back one of the guys who was on the station with her. As he’s giving a speech about how great everybody was to work with she’s alone on the base saying how much of a wanker he was.

  2. JSquared says:

    I like that the main character is a woman, but it bothers me when she’s still surrounded by men. Why did you choose for the other characters to all be men? I really dislike this trend in cinema where they tell you the film has a strong female role, but then she turns out to be the only female in the whole damn thing!

    • cripleh says:

      This has been my thinking for a good few days now actually. I will probably switch gender on a character at some stage.

      I’ll be honest and say it might be the small part in the back of my head worried about writing female characters well and the risk of getting it horribly wrong. This shouldn’t be ‘a thing’ I know but that’s the most honest answer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

