Hand Crafted

My old laptop was rocking Windows Vista as I’d never bothered to upgrade it. It had reached a new level of clunky, often collapsing in on itself and giving me the blue screen of death. The barrage of ‘this software is no longer supported’ kept coming up like the cockroaches surviving the nuke. I backed up the stuff I needed (surprisingly little actually) before cleaning out the hardware and retiring the old girl to the hills. A short drive out to the retail park meant I could pick up a new laptop running something a little more up to date and quicker. My scripts made the jump across to the newer version of Celtx.

Whilst it’s good to have a new piece of tech to hand I’ve found myself trying to avoid staring at my screen wondering what to write next by returning to notebook for a while. You may recall a few weeks ago I mentioned a text adventure game that I’m trying to get working. After many attempts at trying to write it on software I gave up and bought a small notepad. After writing page numbers in the corners I now have a prototype, physical booklet which kind of works as a demo/introduction to the whole thing. It’s complete with small diagrams as well. Sometimes it’s really good to just get down to writing without formatting and having constant pop ups disturbing the process at hand.

wp-1469825260909.jpg

 

Now to do the same thing working out the rest of Parallel.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Hand Crafted

  1. katcreek says:

    Sometimes I find the editing ability of computer can halt me in writing something. Because you can correct and change without leaving evidence of your additions I find it hard to move on when something is shit. Writing by hand means your gonna fuck up and every mistake will be readable there will be crossing out and messyness and I can move on knowing it will be rewritten when I type it up.

Leave a Reply

