Scorpions

Parallel currently sits at about twenty pages and I’ve looked at it a couple of times now. I would have loved to have just pressed on with it and I always tell others about the need to forget about how bad you might think your script is and just finish it. The current incarnation though has enabled me to see how the idea would play out and it isn’t that great. I’m tempted to rip it up and start again. Writing anymore right now in this current state would seem to be like building on dodgy foundations just to get a house finished. Pretty soon it’ll fall down completely, probably before you’ve moved in.

I had a substantial email exchange with Jsquared who had a look over what I had so far. She came up with a fantastic point by mentioning she wasn’t too hot on the setting being space. Most science fiction films she’d had seen had featured outer space and she was pretty tired of it. Perhaps she’s right.

So maybe I’ll change the setting to underwater. This group have been placed deep down in the ocean (for reasons I have yet to work out). The shuttle of this version is replaced by a mini submarine which doesn’t cause any great trouble in rewrites. Also, the visual of water slowly dripping in through cracks in the station as it slowly disintegrates is far better than it just losing air.

This also means I’m getting a Bioshock vibe off it and it’s fine by me.

bioshock.jpg

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Scorpions

  1. JSquared says:

    Glad I could help. I’m at that stage right now that you mentioned at the start. I’ve written a fair few pages, but it’s going off on a bit of a tangent! Really not where I wanted it to be. Got a fresh view of the story though, so I’ll be starting again too.

  2. cripleh says:

    Yeah, it’s that crossroads of not knowing if pressing on ahead will just result in major surgery at the end. I thought I’d cut my losses, consider what I’ve learned with it so far and start over.

    Your feedback was extremely helpful.

  3. katcreek says:

    Underwater vibe like SOMA? That would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

