Revelling In Carnage

After getting around 1000 words done on Thursday the weekend itself has been a bit of a grind. I gave it a rest on Friday as a result of the good result the day before. I never got around to doing anything with it on Saturday and tonight I’ve only managed to get around 250 words done. By the time Tuesday rolls around I had been hoping to get to the 7500 word mark which would be 10% of the overall target. It may still happen but it’ll take a fair bit more effort on my part.

I’ve become a little obsessed with word counts overall actually. How many words make a ‘book’? At one stage can it be considered a fully weighted, all grown up novel? I went for 75,000 because that’s the rough word count for the first Harry Potter book. Googling ‘Word Count For Famous Novels’ does give some surprise results. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory clocks in at 30,644 but I suppose that can be filed under a children’s book so the lower word count would be acceptable. Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse 5 weighs in at 49,459 which seems strangely minimal for a book considered a great classic.  Lord of the Flies stops at just under the 60,000.

The more I think about it the more I reckon I’m probably placing too much emphasis on this whole thing. Perhaps the story is done when the story is done.

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

