Spoileriser

I was actually out last Saturday night, in a bar, amongst other people. It’s a very rare set of circumstances. After attending a local wrestling show I ended up in a pub as one of my workmates was there with his friends celebrating his Birthday.  I didn’t really know the rest of the group but one of them instantly said “Is this your novelist friend?”.

They asked about the book and I gave them a few details about the start.

“A woman returns to her old home in Scotland ten years after her daughter’s disappearance. Her daughter then returns to the town having not aged a single day and thinking she’s only been gone five minutes”.

I’m putting it down to the drink but everybody around the table seemed interested. Then one asked the obvious question…

“So what’s the ending?”.

In my head I was thinking ‘Don’t start talking about alien abduction in the middle of a pub on a Saturday night’. What came out was ‘You’ll have to read it when it’s ready then won’t you?’. In retrospect, this was probably the right choice as they then proceeded to ask if I was actually going to publish it.

The answer is obviously yes.

So my question of the day (and feel free to stick your 2p, 2 cents or whatever currency you use in the comments section) is how much of your story do you tell people in advance if they ask?

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Spoileriser

  1. JSquared says:

    I don’t tell them anything. Usually I’ll say that they’ll have to wait until it’s finished. For me, it’s a bit like wanting someone to watch a movie that you love for the first time, to see their reaction to it, but you’ve already told them what’s going to happen in it. It just won’t have the same impact when they watch it. Plus, I’m never 100% on the story. It could change. Also, people tend to like giving ‘advice’ on what they think is or would be cool to happen next and I absolutely HATE it when people do that. More so if they don’t write themselves because then I think, well if you’ve got such great ideas go and write your own stuff. I’m not really a sharer anyway though, so could just be that!

Leave a Reply

