It Might Look Like A Robot But It’s Still A Car

I wasn’t even planning on getting that many words done today. Even 500 or so would have been an accomplishment on a Sunday. My wife and son went off to watch Despicable Me 3 at the local cinema though so I managed to get a couple of hours at it whilst they were away. In the end I got 1000 words done so I’m now up to 23,000 at the end of Chapter 13.

Chapter 13, detailing the first character to meet the alien under the water, goes full on Doctor Who like territory. There’s nothing truly bad about that but the story up until now has been about a missing girl. This is obviously a very serious and sombre matter. This is the moment in the book when we go full on scifi and I’m still not sure that those two things clash horribly. There’s a part of me wanting to tone that side down a bit but the rest of me just reckons that my writing of the strange stuff is actually far better than writing the normal stuff. When I can inject a bit of imagination into events then I feel much more comfortable writing it as well.

It seems a very strange balance to have.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

